White-bellied Sea-Eagle nest 1 July-December 2017

1 July 2017

I visited the nest at 4:19 pm for 30 minutes, but did not see the sea-eagles.

17 July 2017

I arrived about 10 minutes before sunset (4:58 pm). I saw a single eagle fly from the swamp area straight to the nest. It may have had a stick or leaf in its talons.

IMG_8549

IMG_8558

It seemed to crouch down but its back stayed in view. After 3 minutes it flew back to the swamp (5:01pm). I can’t discount that it was a changeover of parents on the nest, but I only saw one bird the whole time.

IMG_8577

21 July 2017

I visited the nest from 4:40 pm until sunset. I saw more house foundations being made, closer to the nest in between the 2 new roads. There was also a crane, water truck and excavator. I didn’t see the sea-eagles.

4 August 2017

I arrived at about 4:30 pm. I was shocked at how many new house foundations and fenced lots there were closer to the nest, in the middle section between the 2 new roads. Luckily, in the closest section they haven’t progressed the one house (which has plastic ribbons flapping nastily) or started any more.

A single sea-eagle arrived. It may have been holding something.

IMG_8861

It seemed to sit a while then leave after 4 minutes. I couldn’t tell if it was a changeover.

IMG_8873

Friday 18 August 2017

I arrived at 4:35 pm on a very windy day. At 4:45 pm an eagle flew to the nest. I think it was holding some smallish food in its right foot.

IMG_9263

The other eagle popped up out of the nest.

IMG_9269

At 4:48 pm the first eagle flew out of the nest, did a small circuit and landed back in the nest.

IMG_9283

It was being chased by a magpie-lark.

IMG_9293

The eagles appeared to be standing because I could see their backs. Their heads bobbed up as if they were eating. Every so often their wings came up as if they were being caught by the wind.

IMG_9309

The original one flew into a leafy tree to the right of the nest tree and stayed there for about 10 minutes. The one in the nest popped its head up every so often.

IMG_9319

The first one left at about 5 pm. It looked well fed. The other eagle settled back into the nest, out of sight.

Saturday 26 August 2017

I arrived at 4:32 pm and watched the nest from the car. Twice I heard one or both eagles but did not see them. Finally I saw them fly to a tree about 50 m from the nest tree at about 5:25 pm. They settled and appeared to bed down for the night. I  feel so sad for them. I don’t know what has happened but it was 15oC when I left at 5:45 pm  and getting colder. I don’t think eggs or chicks could survive for long without the parents.

IMG_9444

Thursday 14 September 2017

Time goes so quickly between visits. Today I visited for about an hour. At 5:38 pm I saw an eagle fly from the swamp in the direction of the nest. I think it landed in a tree about 50 m further into the private property from the nest tree.

IMG_9729

Soon after, I saw another fly in the same direction. I think they both went into one of the larger trees further in but it was almost dark and I couldn’t see them. They didn’t come over to the nest tree.

Friday 29 September 2017

Today I arrived at about 5:20 pm and at about 6:00 pm I saw one sea-eagle fly to the trees further in than the nest. At 6:05 pm I saw the other fly in with something in its talons. I don’t know if they are roosting in there or flying past. I stayed for another 10 minutes but didn’t see either one visit the nest.

Leave a Reply

