White-bellied Sea-Eagle nest 2 2017

Monday 24 April 2017

I went to visit nest 2 for the first time in 2017. When I crossed onto the grassland adjacent to the nest tree, I was met with a most horrific sight. There were white markers all over the land, with lot numbers written on them. I paced the distance from the nearest one to the nest tree: it was a mere 30 m.

IMG_5820

I looked towards the grassy slope that was my other access to the nest tree. A smooth graded road is now there.

IMG_5828

I thought this nest was safe. What are people thinking? They will drive another pair of White-bellied Sea-Eagles  – a Vulnerable species in NSW – away from their nest, right before/at nesting time. If this degree of development is being carried out all over the state, I can’t see the species lasting for very long. Needless to say, I didn’t see the sea-eagles.

Monday 17 July 2017

I drove around the development that overlooks the nesting area. I could not locate the actual nest tree or see the birds flying. I did see another pair of raptors but could not identify them. It looks as if more of the land has been turned to soil/mud.

Wednesday 26 July 2017

I went to the eagle tree and saw more widespread clearing of the land.

IMG_8682

There’s no doubt that the developers are planning to cover all the available land with houses, irrespective of the nest right there. This time I found lot markers in the trees that are around and behind the nest tree. At the right of the photo below is the base of the nest tree (nearly half the photo) and in the middle to the left is a white lot marker with a pink ribbon around it.

IMG_8688

There was a lone bulldozer working. I didn’t see either sea-eagle.

Wednesday 16 August 2017

I walked down from the top entrance and there were no vehicles working on the site. The land was flat, smooth and dry.

IMG_8995

I saw 2 black kites, so I went over to the tree where they had attempted to nest last year. There was a small nest still there.

IMG_9032

They didn’t fly over to it but one was eating something red while on the wing.

IMG_9044

I saw a nankeen kestrel as well. After I had been there for an hour, I saw a white-bellied sea-eagle! It seemed to have something on its belly. I wonder if it is a brood patch. It flew over the area in general, including the nest tree, but didn’t land.

IMG_9092

Leave a Reply

