White-bellied Sea-Eagle Nest 2 October 2016

Wednesday 5 October 2016

As I walked towards the eagle nest, I saw a whistling kite flying, then the black kite in its nest. I can be 100 m away, hidden in a strip of remnant bushland full of lantana and she does not see me. I explored a different way of getting to the eagle nest, skirting along the bush then walking through it, staying inside and trying not to make the leaves crackle. I thought I had done it; I arrived under cover to a position 150 m away without being seen. However, an eagle suddenly appeared from behind me and obviously saw me (coincidence because it was going back to the nest?). Its belly looked a little grubby, I think from the nest. I left straight away and went back to look at the black kite nest. I saw both black kites flying around. One eagle flew over and there were some aerial battles with the eagle flipping upside down momentarily.

img_3099-small

img_3108-small

img_3111-small

While they were engaged, I slipped back to have a look at the eagle nest from a different place. I saw a bit of white. I was so far away – and my camera was doing its best – that while I think it looks like an eaglet, I can’t be sure.

img_3119

When I left, I went past the black kite nest again. As soon as I was back to my hiding spot 100 m away, the female got back on the nest.

img_3164

Thursday 6 October 2016

Today I just decided to have a look at the black kite nest. She was just sitting there, so I decided to try going deeper under cover to the eagle nest. I managed to arrive undetected and was thrilled when I saw an eagle land on the nest.

img_3201-small

It seemed to be checking or rearranging something.

img_3220-small

I risked a few photos while sulphur-crested cockatoos were screeching and kookaburras were laughing.

I went back to the black kite nest and watched for about an hour. I saw a swamp harrier, nankeen kestrel and 2 whistling kites sat in the tree 10 m in front of the black kite nest tree.

Tuesday 11 October 2016

Today, I crept through the bushes so carefully that I managed to get to a spot where I could see the nest (about 200  m away) without being seen. I arrived just after 4:00 pm and at 4:38 pm I suddenly noticed an eagle flying towards the nest at high speed, wings pulled in almost like a dive. It was carrying something large, which looks like a purple swamphen or similar but I cannot say for sure because my photo is not in focus.

img_3367

img_3369-small

It landed in the nest and stood there – unfortunately mostly behind a branch – for more than 30 mins with its tail bobbing regularly. It could definitely have been feeding young.

img_3380

It went out of sight by 5:18 pm (40 mins after landing), and I didn’t see it leave, so it must have settled down into the nest. I left through the bush without attracting attention too!

Tuesday 18 October 2016

By very slow and careful walking through bush, I made it to a vantage point about 200 m from the nest without being seen. I was wedged in a lantana bush against a tree trunk. One sea-eagle was circling, but did not see me. I had been there for nearly an hour when I thought I saw a peregrine falcon. It is so far away, but looks more like a peregrine than a hobby to me.

img_3536

As I took a couple of photos, I suddenly noticed one of the sea-eagles and it noticed me. It flew straight towards me. I had been hidden for nearly an hour (first photo 3:57 pm, seen at 4:48 pm)!!! It circled my hiding spot and made a ‘cluck cluck cluck’ sound. I immediately showed myself and both sea-eagles circled me. I’m sure they are guarding an active nest. I walked away in full view so they could watch me go. My photos of the nest do not reveal any babies.

img_3576

One sea-eagle had a brush with a black kite.

img_3583

Thursday 20 October 2016

Today I sneaked down from the top access through the bushes. It’s very hard to walk quietly because of all the fallen leaves and twigs. Still, I was shocked to look up and see an eagle circling above the trees. They must have extremely good hearing. It kept above until I stopped at a tree then went to the guard tree for about 10 mins.

img_3648-small

I moved to under a better tree. After that I saw both flying around the general nest area but they didn’t seem to care about me. They went off then one came back and was being chased by a raven. I decided to let them see me leave and not wait for them to go back to the nest. btw I haven’t seen any chicks yet!

Leave a Reply

