Black kite nest 3 October 2016

(This will repeat some text and photos from WBSE nest 2 posts)

Friday 30 September 2016

As I began my walk across to the eagle nest, I thought I heard a whistling kite. I saw a whistling kite in a tree.

img_2762-small

I thought I saw a second whistling kite, but when I looked up, the bird that was flying was a black kite. I looked at the group of 6 mature eucalypts and there was a nest made of stout sticks with a black kite in it!!!!

img_2765-small

There may have been 2 whistling kites and 2 black kites: I’m not sure. The black kite nest was 4-5 m from the top of a tree that was about 35 m tall. The tree was on the edge of an open grassland.

I walked towards the eagle nest. While I was near there, a black kite and the female eagle came over every so often to look at me and flew around each other.

img_2831-small

When I left, I checked out the black kite nest again.

img_2839-small

Wednesday 5 October 2016

As I walked towards the eagle nest, I saw a whistling kite flying, then the black kite in its nest. I can be 100 m away, hidden in a strip of remnant bushland full of lantana and she does not see me. I walked towards the eagle nest, but one saw me so I left straight away and went back to the black kite nest. I saw both black kites flying around. One eagle flew over and there were some aerial battles with the eagle flipping upside down momentarily.

img_3099-small

img_3108-small

img_3111-small

As soon as I was back to my hiding spot 100 m away, the female black kite got back on the nest.

img_3164

Thursday 6 October 2016

Today when I arrived, I saw a whistling kite flying. A black kite was sitting in the nest. I noticed that there was another nest in a nearby tree (20 m away?), but did not know if it was new or occupied.

img_3182-small

I watched for about 15 minutes then moved on to check the eagle nest. I came back and watched the kites for an hour. At first one black kite sat in the nest and the other flew over and sat in a tree about 25 m away.

img_3243-small

img_3246-small

A whistling kite flew over with nesting material (leaves) in its beak.

img_3258-small

It did a few circles near the nest tree then settled in the tree beside the nest tree about 12 m below the occupied nest and 10 m across. The nesting black kite did not seem worried. A second whistling kite arrived and sat near the first one for a while (bottom midddle).

img_3270-small

The black kite, which had been away for a while, flew over the nest area with something in its talon (bone?). It did not go to the nest.

img_3277

One whistling kite moved to a high lookout point between the nests (black kite nest on left). It called.

img_3284-small

I noticed another tree a bit further away and on the flat ground seemed to have a nest in it.

img_3285-small

The whistling kite flew back to its mate and landed so close it almost looked as if it could have been making a mating attempt.

img_3293-small

Just before I left, the black kite flew past the nest quite close but did not land.

img_3297-small

Tuesday 11 October 2016

When I arrived at 3:52 pm, I thought the nest was empty. I took one photo, which shows a black kite sitting in it (face behind the middle stick.

img_3357

I went to look at the sea-eagles and came back at 5:25 pm. The nest looked empty, but at 5:33 pm a black kite flew in and landed near the nest. I stayed about 5 mins, but then left as it looked settled. It didn’t see me.

img_3391

Tuesday 18 October 2016

When I arrived and left, I could see a black kite sitting in the nest. There was no action, so I moved on.  When I came back, a black kite had a battle with a whistling kite only about 25 m from the nest. I think the whistling kites must be nesting too, but I haven’t found their nest.

img_3602-small

Leave a Reply

