White-bellied Sea-Eagle Nest 2 August 2016

1 August 2016

Today I  approached the nest from a different direction. I could tell there was an eagle standing on the nest, so I only crept as far as the nearest cover I could get to without being seen (a clump of spindly bushes 150 m from the nest tree. What a thrill: my first sighting of an eagle on the nest.

IMG_1827 small

After about 10 mins, the eagle flew away, strongly, and in a straight line. It was over open country and I could still see it when it would have been several kilometres away.

IMG_1833 small

I decided to leave while the nest was unattended, so I would not be seen. When I had walked halfway back to my car, an eagle flew past me travelling towards the nest tree. It came from a different direction, so I assume it was the partner!

IMG_1838 small

15 August 2016

I haven’t been able to visit the nest for a while, but today was a beautiful day so I called in after work. One eagle – or maybe two but never together – circled then landed in the nest tree at regular intervals.

IMG_1882 small

It usually landed near the top of the tree, well above the nest, and was harassed and chased by a pair of currawongs.

IMG_1885 small

I waited until after the sun set, but did not see it go into the nest. So I still don’t know if the nest is in use. I think I only saw one eagle, but maybe the other is incubating, right down in the middle of the nest.

Monday 29 August 2016

Last week was rainy so I didn’t visit the nest. Today, as I made my way towards the nest, an eagle flew overhead.

IMG_2253 small

I hid under/in a tree about 150 m away. As I looked through my camera, I realised that a second eagle was in the nest!! It’s not immediately obvious, against the left bough.

IMG_2267 small

After some time, this eagle flew out and went to a branch higher in the nest tree.

IMG_2269 small

IMG_2274 small

The first eagle sat in a tree about 100 m from the nest tree. They both just stayed in these positions for more than an hour.

IMG_2285 small

Eventually, the first eagle flew around a few times then landed near the second one in the nest tree.

IMG_2315 small

They stayed there for about 10 mins, then flew off together. Once they had been gone for a while, I walked back to my car (more than 0.5 km away). I was far away from the nest, nearly back to my car, when one eagle flew over me!

IMG_2331 small

Leave a Reply

