White-bellied Sea-Eagle nest 1 June 2016

Monday 13 June 2016

Today I found a spectacular White-bellied Sea-Eagle nest. It is very large, and conspicuously situated in a tall eucalypt.

I found the nest totally by accident. As I was driving through a new development, I saw a pair of Wedge-tailed Eagles circling. Although they were quite high, I stopped to take a few photos.

IMG_0733 small

As I was watching them, I heard the unmistakable honking of White-bellied Sea-Eagles. I walked towards the sound and saw the huge nest. Then I saw the Sea-Eagles in a nearby tree.
IMG_0755 small

I will never forget my shock and delight at finding a nest. I have seen many Sea-Eagles over the years, including juveniles, but never a nest. I couldn’t believe my luck!

After spending some time in the nest, the Sea-Eagles flew to a nearby tree and started honking again.

IMG_0763 small

Then they mated. It was brief but I was stunned to have such luck.

IMG_0769 small

IMG_0770 small

IMG_0771 small

IMG_0772 small

IMG_0773 small

IMG_0774 small

Thursday 16 June 2016

I went to visit the nest late this afternoon. No birds, but nice light!

IMG_0810 small

Friday 24 June 2016

Another visit and no birds. I’m wondering if they have another nest.

IMG_0813 small.JPG

Saturday 25 June 2016

No birds in the nest, but I did see one flying over a nearby swamp. I heard them calling from the other side of it a bit later.

IMG_0816 small

IMG_0817 small

 

Leave a Reply

