Productive nests

2009 – Whistling kites

In 2009, I discovered three nests in a tall eucalypt in a small park. At that time, I often saw two whistling kites in the surrounding trees. I did not see them in the nest, but on one visit I saw a dead one on the ground below. Looking back, I think it must have been a baby that fell or couldn’t fly.

P1050506email

P1050516email

2010 – White-faced herons

In 2010, I was amazed to see baby white-faced herons in the left nest, which is lower than the two shown above. They are very well camouflaged.

P1230162 small

P1210541 small

2012 – Brown falcon

In 2012, I went to check if the whistling kites were there. I suddenly got buzzed by an angry brown falcon!

IMG_2789 - Copy

Looking up, I saw a brown falcon in the top nest!

IMG_1520 - Copy

2015 – Brown goshawks

In 2015, I went to check the nest. To my amazement, two baby brown goshawks were hopping around in the branches around it.

IMG_1654 small

IMG_1630 small

2016 – No nests

Last weekend, I visited the park and was devastated to see no nests in the tree. I was afraid that people had cut the tree down. There were two stumps, and I wasn’t sure exactly where the tree had been.

IMG_1571 small

I took a photo of the nearest intact tree. Comparing the branches to the ones in the top photo, I think this one was the nest tree. There is no trace of the three nests, so I can only assume that the superstorm last year took them out.

IMG_1572 small

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

