Trying something different

Our greatest weakness lies in giving up. The most certain way to succeed is always to try just one more time.
– Thomas A. Edison

Blog63_1_IMG_0600

I didn’t get the chance to go out the weekend before last, so I went out twice last weekend to make up for it!
On Saturday I had a brilliant sighting of a Black Falcon flying past with food.

Blog63_2_IMG_9693

There were several White-bellied Sea-Eagles of different ages (although I missed some great shots by being in the wrong place).

Blog63_3_IMG_9846

And on the way home I saw a Nankeen Kestrel on a power line.

Blog63_4_IMG_9885

On Sunday I went to a different favourite spot, in the late afternoon. There were clouds to the west, so the light was dull, and the birds stayed a fair way away from me. I thought things wouldn’t get better, and almost went home, but decided to stay and try something different – using high ISO (1600 and 3200). As the sun sank below the clouds, it gave the Black Kites the most glorious orange colour.

Blog63_5_IMG_0295

Blog63_6_IMG_0393

Blog63_7_IMG_0608

Blog63_8_IMG_0675

I had a fly by from a Black Falcon.

Blog63_9_IMG_0650

And pelicans flew overhead.

Blog63_10_IMG_0665

My photos aren’t very sharp, but they are far better than I expected to get so late in the day. And deciding to try something different meant that I was there when conditions unexpectedly became superb.

Leave a Reply

