Surprise

Surprise is the greatest gift which life can grant us.
-Boris Pasternak

Blog62_1_IMG_9125

I got the greatest surprise yesterday. I noticed a Brown Falcon perched on the top of a distant bare tree. I watched it for quite a while, hoping to see it fly, but it seemed settled. I strolled up the hill and suddenly there it was, flying towards me. It was close, low down and facing the sun.

I frantically raised my camera and fired off as many shots as I could. I cut off a wing here, a head there, it was so close. It was gone in seconds. The shot below is the sharpest I have ever taken of a Brown Falcon in flight. If only the bird had a wing tip, I would have been ecstatic!

Blog62_2_IMG_9128

I thought I was watching the Brown Falcon again a little later then realised I was actually watching a Black Falcon.

Blog62_3_IMG_9054

A beautiful adult White-bellied Sea-Eagle flew over several times.

Blog62_4_IMG_8895

Blog62_5_IMG_9037

And as usual, Whistling Kites were circling over the paddocks.

Blog62_6_IMG_9151

I also saw a Wedge-tailed Eagle, a Swamp Harrier and many Black Kites.

When I go out birding, I think I know what to expect, but the birds usually manage to surprise me. And I love it.

Leave a Reply

