Fun

Fun is good.
-Dr Seuss

Blog61_1_IMG_7659

After a week’s holiday, I was looking forward to seeing some birds of prey (although while I was away, I did see a Wedge-tailed Eagle and 3 Brahminy Kites – no photos sadly). On Saturday, I allowed myself to sleep in then was sorry when I woke up and saw a perfect blue sky. By the time I got to one of my favourite bird of prey places, there were streaky clouds, but I didn’t let that turn me away.

I saw several beautiful White-bellied Sea-Eagles of different ages …

Blog61_2_IMG_7890

An older Wedge-tailed Eagle …

Blog61_3_IMG_7945

Whistling Kites …

Blog61_4_IMG_8240

… and a Black-shouldered Kite that was hunting.

Blog61_5_IMG_8112

Blog61_6_IMG_8210

Not to mention many Black Kites, a Swamp Harrier and a Brown Falcon!

On Sunday I went out again, but didn’t see birds of prey at close range. I
did enjoy seeing an Australian Raven feeding its young – a first for me.

Blog61_7_IMG_8333

Late Sunday afternoon I visited a different bird of prey place. I had a clear sky and perfect afternoon light but the birds stayed high or far. Once the light went, a Black Kite circled me at close range! I saw two Black Kites that had settled down for the night.

Blog61_8_IMG_8614

I had a lot of fun doing what I enjoy most. And fun is good.

Leave a Reply

