Waiting

You usually have to wait for that which is worth waiting for.
– Craig Bruce

Blog56_1_IMG_3846

Yesterday, I was keen to get up and go to my new favourite bird of prey place. The weather forecast was perfect and my new birding friend was going with another bird photographer.
Alas, my alarm didn’t go off and I woke up an hour later than I intended. But everything went well from then on.
When I stopped in to get my essential drive-through coffee, I saw a Little Falcon on the power lines across the road.

Blog56_2_IMG_2763
And when I left there, I saw a Black-shouldered Kite a little farther on.
I met my friends and we stayed for several hours. The Black Kites were abundant, and flew over us at regular intervals. I tried to get different shots, and managed to get some of a Black Kite in a tree.

Blog56_3_IMG_3039

Best of all, a Black Falcon made several low passes over us. I wasn’t near it for its first or second pass, but a little later it barreled towards me. I clicked away madly and it came so close I got a full frame shot. But I didn’t get the camera focused and the shot was blurry!

Blog56_4_IMG_3429
My friends decided to go to another spot, but I decided to wait. I had a feeling that the Black Falcon would fly over again and I wanted to be there if it did. So I stayed for more than an hour, taking more and more Black Kite photos. I saw a Little Falcon fly past twice, but it was FAST, and I didn’t have time to get a photo.
Suddenly the Black Falcon appeared, quite close, in good light. I got about 20 photos, which are better than any I have.

Blog56_5_IMG_3850
Yippee! The waiting was worth it … definitely.

Blog56_6_IMG_3854

Leave a Reply

