New friends

Old friends pass away, new friends appear. It is just like the days. An old day passes, a new day arrives. The important thing is to make it meaningful: a meaningful friend – or a meaningful day.
– Dalai Lama

Blog50_1_IMG_7857

A couple of weeks ago, a member of a bird forum told me about a new bird of prey place. Better still, she offered to meet me there. I have lots of bird forum friends, from all over Australia, but I’ve never had the opportunity to meet any of them.

We met and found plenty to talk about, with our shared love of birds in general, birds of prey and parrots in particular and bird photography. We met again the next weekend, along with other members of the bird forum or their friends (eight of us in total, wearing camo clothes and lugging serious cameras). Having more than 20-40 birds of prey flying above our heads was something we will never forget.

Since then I’ve gone back by myself, and met a birder with binoculars. I’ve also gone back with my first bird forum friend, and we met yet another bird photographer. We were thrilled when four Yellow-tailed Black-cockatoos flew towards us …

Blog50_2_IMG_7460
… and we were delighted when we saw Black Kites playing with their food.

Blog50_3_IMG_7777
I finally got some photos of Black Kites that I’m happy with.

Blog50_4_IMG_7921

We moved on to two other places and saw a Wedge-tailed Eagle flying low, followed by two Whistling Kites. We had a great day!

Blog50_5_IMG_8150

All of a sudden I have all these new friends, who have the same passion for birds and bird photography as I do. It’s wonderful! My old friends mean the world to me, but I’m honoured to have these new friends in my life.

Leave a Reply

