Shooting ducks

The fascination of shooting as a sport depends almost wholly on whether you are at the right or wrong end of the gun.
– P.G. Wodehouse
Blog46_1_IMG_5529pbd
This morning I went out to my favourite bird of prey place. As I was waiting for a bird of prey – any bird of prey – to fly over me I saw a Pacific black duck. I was fascinated; it was so swift I could barely keep it in my viewfinder.
Blog46_2_IMG_5530pbd
Suddenly I remembered a newspaper article I read last night. It said that last Saturday, approximately15000 people went to wetlands in Victoria for the sole purpose of killing native ducks. These are some of the ducks they killed:

Pacific Black Duck
Blog46_3_IMG_3524pbd
Wood Duck (Maned Duck)
Blog46_4_IMG_5126wd
Grey Teal
Chestnut Teal
Blog46_5_IMG_3210ct
Pink-eared Duck
Mountain Duck (Australian Shelduck)
Hardhead (White-eyed Duck)
Blog46_6_IMG_3590hh
Australasian Shoveller

And it gets worse:
• governments in Victoria, South Australia, Tasmania and NSW in Australia let them do it
• three anti-duck-shooting activists were fined and two will face court for rescuing ducks
• at least one in four ducks shot by duck hunters is wounded and will suffer a slow agonising death
• duck hunters sometimes shoot protected species

What is wrong with these people? They are not starving and they are not defending themselves, their families, their homes or their countries. They are just maiming and killing for enjoyment, pure and simple.
They see a beautiful living animal and they want to kill it. I can’t even get my head around that sort of thinking.
As a community, we need to say NO to animal cruelty in all its forms.

Leave a Reply

