Disappointment

We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope.

– Martin Luther King Junior

Blog45_1_IMG_5253

This morning, instead of going to the gym, I set off to my favourite bird of prey place to take photos. I haven’t gone there for several weeks because we’ve had a tremendous amount of rain, especially in the weekends.
The sky was blue, the temperature was comfortable and there was hardly any wind. Images of White-bellied Sea-eagles flying towards me kept popping into my mind.
I arrived and set up my camera and a chair (I know how to make myself comfortable ). I sat down, took a swig of apple juice and waited … and waited.
The skies were unusually empty. I have almost always seen White-bellied Sea-eagles, Whistling Kites and Swamp Harriers when I’ve gone there, no matter what time of day. But today, there was not a one.
A Black-shouldered Kite landed on a power line on the other side of the road. I made my way towards it, but I was on the wrong side of the sun. The photos weren’t very good.

Blog45_1_IMG_5240

Small groups of Straw-necked Ibis flew by. Once again, I wasn’t on the right side of the sun, but I took a few photos anyway (see above).
My favourite bird of prey place is usually bristling with ravens, but there weren’t very many there today.

Blog45_3_IMG_5260
I moved on to another place I used to go to see Brown Falcons. I think there might have been two in the air as I drove up, but they were gone before I parked the car. I had to make do with some distant Golden-headed Cisticolas.

Blog45_4_IMG_5262

I felt disappointed that my birds weren’t there and frightened that they wouldn’t come back and that my bird of prey place would never be as good again. But I have to hope that they are just somewhere else fishing in the floodwaters for a while.

Leave a Reply

