New Year

Write it on your heart that every day is the best day in the year.
– Ralph Waldo Emerson

Blog42_1_IMG_4410

It’s New Year’s Eve and I got up at 5:50 am to see my last birds of prey for 2012. I went to my favourite bird of prey place and expected to see some White-bellied Sea-Eagles, but I didn’t see a single one. Because I was so early, though, I saw a pair of Whistling Kites still perched in their tree.

Blog42_2_IMG_4306

Two Swamp Harriers were very active, although they didn’t come as close to me as I would have liked. I enjoyed watching them. I also got my first photo of a pair of Swamp Harriers flying.

Blog42_3_IMG_4454

A Brown Falcon whizzed past at high speed.

Blog42_4_IMG_4374

I noticed a very large bird about 200 metres from me and couldn’t work out what it was. It was black with brown wings and didn’t look like any bird of prey I knew.

Blog42_5_IMG_4325

I looked it up when I got home and found that it was a breeding Pheasant Coucal, a kind of cuckoo.

Blog42_6_IMG_4322

I love that there’s always the possibility of seeing a brand new bird when I go out!

Happy New Year everyone, and I hope you all enjoy birding in 2013.

Leave a Reply

