Every bird is magnificent

The moment one gives close attention to any thing, even a blade of grass it becomes a mysterious, awesome, indescribably magnificent world in itself.

– Henry Miller

Blog39_1_IMG_3263

As you know, I spend most of my bird photography time looking at birds of prey. I love them, and make no apology for that.
But when I do make time to look at other birds, I find they are just as beautiful and interesting as birds of prey.
Last week I went to a pond in my suburb to photograph some ducks. I saw not only the usual Wood Ducks, Pacific Black Ducks and Chestnut Teals but a Hardhead as well.

Blog39_2_IMG_3260

I even saw a Little Black Cormorant.

Blog39_3_IMG_3239

I was fascinated to see a Purple Swamphen climb a bulrush and start chomping on the flower spike.

Blog39_4_IMG_3134
A beautiful Intermediate Egret in full breeding colours stood in the reeds, looking for prey (see top).
While I was watching the egret, an exquisite Red-rumped Parrot landed on a stick projecting from the pond and had a drink.

Blog39_5_IMG_3313
Royal spoonbills flew overhead.

Blog39_6_IMG_3228
I walked to a neighbouring pond and was greeted by the sight and sound of dozens of Yellow Thornbills, Yellow-rumped Thornbills and Silvereyes flitting around in the casuarinas on the bank.

Blog39_7_IMG_3373
It was heady stuff, and it reminded me that attention should be paid to every bird.

One response

Leave a Reply

