Change the way you look at things

If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.
– Wayne Dyer

Blog38_1_IMG_2856

I take one of my children to a sports stadium each week and have an hour and a half to use as I please. The sports stadium has a nice strip of trees around it, ringing with the sounds of Bell Miners (see above), and Whip Birds.

Last week, I decided to go for a walk and see what other birds lived there.

First, I looked up. Swift little birds flew overhead. Then two Royal Spoonbills flew overhead, so close they seemed to be touching.

Blog38_2_IMG_2841

My main quarry was the Sacred Kingfisher I have seen there from time to time. I found it, but every time I tried to creep up on it it flew farther away. Frustrating! I did get a few distant shots, and I think it looks like a gleaming jewel in the tree.

Blog38_3_IMG_2835

A surprise find was a pair of Yellow-faced Honeyeaters. I haven’t seen these birds very often and I was lucky they let me get so close to them.

Blog38_4_IMG_2845

As I left, having thoroughly enjoyed a bird of prey-free photo shoot, I spied this rabbit hopping across the grass in the golden afternoon light.

Blog38_5_IMG_2858

I know when I go back there this week, I’ll see not only trees, but also birds … and maybe the odd rabbit!

Leave a Reply

