Birds in my backyard – Nov 16, 2012

My precious Amelia flew at 3:10 pm last Friday. It was quite dramatic: she pushed her shoulders out of the hole then hung upside down for at least ten minutes before she got the courage to let go. She landed in the next door neighbour’s yard, but soon flew away flanked by both parents.

She was the last baby. I miss them a lot. I feel as if there is something missing from my life. They have so much personalitly and for a few weeks a year, they become the highlight of my life.

This morning a family of five galahs – two parents and three babies – visited our yard. I wasn’t quick enough to get a photo. I think our galahs are the most likely ones to visit us, but I can’t be sure it was them. There are so many in the area.

Leave a Reply

