Mornings

Find peace in the morning rush and you will have a good day.

– Mike Dolan

I’ve never been a morning person. Not ever. I happily worked from 5:00 pm until 1:00 am when I had an evening job. And I chose to work from 10:00 am until 7:00 pm when I had a day job with flexible hours.

But lately I’ve been discovering the beauty of mornings. I exercise in fits and starts, usually when I’m feeling unusually motivated or when I’m being terrorised by the mirror. I like to walk, and in summer, mornings are the best time. And even though it’s cold in winter, I find it a nice cold, a refreshing cold, as long as I’ve got warm clothes on.

Yesterday morning, I woke up at 6:30 am. And instead of going back to sleep, I got up, got dressed and headed off to my favourite bird of prey spot with my camera. It was cold but lovely. The early morning sun gave the gum trees that beautiful golden-red colour that makes them look so Australian. And the whistling kites seemed to glow.

As I took some photos of birds that were lit up from underneath instead of from above, I promised myself that I would make the effort to see more early mornings.

birds of prey

Australian daytime birds of prey

Leave a Reply

