Owning your favourite things

… you like what you like. Most of the time you have no idea why.

– Laurell K. Hamilton

 

We all have favourite things. Favourite books. Favourite movies. Favourite clothes. Favourite foods.

I have a favourite photo, which you can see above. It’s a photo of two adult white-bellied sea-eagles doing a courtship flight.

I took the photo when I first got my camera. I wasn’t familiar with the camera settings, but I’d worked out how to use burst mode so I just kept clicking as the white-bellied sea-eagles flew past me.

I didn’t even know what I’d photographed until I looked at the photos on my computer. When I saw this photo I was ecstatic. I’d captured the moment when the female rolled upside down and presented her talons to the male.

A professional photographer (and any other viewer) would see the problems, such as bad lighting and poor exposure. But I see the magic.

I’ve taken thousands of photos, in fact more than 10,000 photos. I know this because my camera started naming the photos from IMG_0001 again. But this photo remains my favourite.

No matter what anyone else thinks or says, this photo remains my favourite. I don’t know why. But it does.

birds of prey

Australian daytime birds of prey

Leave a Reply

