Remembering your passion

Passion is energy. Feel the power that comes from focusing on what excites you.

– Oprah Winfrey

 

It’s so easy to let boring tasks fill up your whole life, from morning to night, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Especially if you have a family.

And it’s so easy to not find time for yourself and not do what interests you in the name of duty and responsibility.

A couple of days ago, I drove one family member to a favourite activity in the morning then another family member to a favourite activity in the afternoon. As I sat at the second place, waiting, I saw a black-shouldered kite. I felt myself come alive as I watched it. It disappeared, but some time later it appeared again, with a mate. They did quite a few courtship flights and I was riveted.

As it happened, I had my camera in my car, but I didn’t bring it out because they were too far away for good photos. I just enjoyed watching them.

After I dropped the family member home, I decided to go to my favourite bird of prey spot.

I saw a pair of whistling kites in a tree, but the sun was right behind them. It sank behind the trees 15 minutes after I arrived.

I took some photos of birds in flight, but I hadn’t taken photos for so long that I used a wrong setting. By the time I realised, it was almost dark.

I cursed myself, especially as I had seen a swamp harrier and all my photos of it were blurry.

But an adult white-bellied sea-eagle flew overhead and I got a few snaps that weren’t too bad. I like the late afternoon light on its white feathers.

As I focussed on it (literally), I felt the power and the peace that comes to you when you are where you want to be, doing what you want to do.

Australian daytime birds of prey

Birds of prey

One response

Leave a Reply

