Being in the right place at the right time

The two most important requirements for major success are: first, being in the right place at the right time, and second, doing something about it.
– Ray Kroc

I go to the right place a lot. Well, a few right places. By right places, I mean places where I’ve got a very good chance of seeing a bird of prey. Hopefully more than one bird of prey. Nice and close.

Sometimes conditions are great: early morning, blue sky or late afternoon, golden light. But sometimes they aren’t: lots of clouds, sun overhead.

I have to go when I can and make the best of the conditions at the time.

A few weeks ago I was at my favourite place when the conditions were great. I had wanted to photograph a swamp harrier for a very long time. And that day, I was in the right place at the right time. A swamp harrier was flying around. And I did something about it. I got as close as I could (my birds of prey are always flying over private land and I am on the other side of a barbed wire fence) then I took hundreds (HUNDREDS!) of photos.

The photos aren’t excellent but they remind of the day I was in the right place to photograph a beautiful bird on a beautiful day.

Birds of prey

Australian daytime birds of prey

Leave a Reply

