Good luck

Diligence is the mother of good luck.

-Benjamin Franklin

Last week I went out to take photos of birds in flight. When I got to my favourite site I put on my camo gear – khaki pants, leaf-patterned jacket and swirly-patterned bandana. I looked like a strange, stout plant. I stood by the fence on the side of the road for a few hours, watching and clicking away.

At one point, a bird of prey flew over me. It was a nankeen kestrel. It landed on a power pole that was no more than ten metres away from me!

I swung my camera up and took a few photos. The nankeen kestrel turned and saw me … and flew away.

It was good luck to see a nankeen kestrel at close range when I had my camera in my hands, ready to use, and the sun was in the right position.

But I had also been diligent about going to my favourite site regularly, waiting patiently, standing still and wearing camo gear so I would blend in with the surroundings.

I love it when I get good luck and I love it even more when I’m prepared to get good luck.

Birds of prey

Australian daytime birds of prey

Leave a Reply

