Unexpected success

You always pass failure on the way to success.

-Mickey Rooney

Some time ago, I had a few hours to kill in the middle of the day. I was only 10 minutes drive from my favourite bird of prey spot, so I headed over to it.

The conditions weren’t good for photography. The sun was high in the sky and there was a 50% cloud cover.

I saw lots of birds of prey. They were magnificent, and I was lucky enough to see some courtship flights.

The trouble was they were far away from me. I took lots of photos anyway, knowing that I would end up deleting them all.

One bird of prey piqued my interest. It was being chased by a squadron of smaller birds. It was a pale colour, so I guessed that it was a Black-shouldered Kite.

Later, I downloaded my photos. They were as bad as I feared. But as I increased the size of the bird of prey that had piqued my interest, I realised that it was a grey goshawk.

SUCCESS!

Not with the photo, but with the discovery of a new bird of prey at that location.

As I gazed at my photo, I realised that success often hides within failure. You just have to look hard enough.

Birds of prey

Australian daytime birds of prey

Leave a Reply

