Enjoying life

 No man is a failure who is enjoying life.

-William Feather

 

Do you do something just because you enjoy doing it? And it doesn’t matter if you’re not the best at it or even very good at it?

I love taking photos of birds. And I should be better at it than I am. I’ve done a few photography courses, I’ve read a lot of photography books and last year I bought myself a better camera.

The thing is, it’s the experience of finding and watching birds that matters to me. It’s like going on holidays. The experience is what matters and the photos are just a record of it.

Don’t get me wrong, I love good photos. And I wish mine were better. But I don’t need them to be.

And that means that each time I come home and look at my photos, I marvel at the birds I saw instead of beat myself up about a cut-off wing tip or an intruding twig in a photo.

I hope I always care more about finding a new bird than producing a perfect photo.

When I took the photo above, I thought I’d captured a Little Falcon. Imagine my excitement when I realised I’d captured a Peregrine Falcon. My very first one! The photo isn’t well exposed or well composed. But when I look at it, I remember the moment that the fastest creature on Earth flew over me.

And that memory is worth more than a perfect photo.

Birds of prey

Australian daytime birds of prey

Leave a Reply

